[listening] january

During a skypation (our word for skype conversation) with Maarten, we had this idea of songs to be played for Skipping Salamander School. I call this project “synthphone”, and soon I will share the list of songs that we are going to play.

But for now, here’s one of them – “When the Phone Stops Ringing” by Eighth Wonder. This video made me realise why in the 80s guys were head over heels for Patsy Kensit (personally I like this live performance better than the official video)

Another female singer that I am currently listening to is Sophie Ellis-Bextor. Her album “Wanderlust” was released early this year and Young Blood was chosen as the first single. When I listened to “Wanderlust” it reminded me of Kylie’s “Impossible Princess” and Madonna’s “Ray of Light”. It seems that Sophie is experiencing the same phase as the two divas.

Speaking of Madonna, the Pamela Lansbury of Glee did a very nice cover of Madonna’s 80s hit “Into The Groove”. And yes, that’s Adam Lambert.

And in the spirit of divas, here’s Dutch’s very own jazz diva. Caro Emerald is breaking into the UK music scene (yay!), and this is her at the BBC Radio 2.

In the mean time, Aussie diva Kylie Minogue became one of the judges at The Voice UK, replacing Miss J-J-J-Jessie J. So I’m back watching The Voice UK again now. My favourites from the first episode were Lee Gleason (who covered Kylie’s “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” brilliantly) and the cute 16-year-old Anna McLuckie.

And.. speaking of brilliant covers, Polish Wladimir Firsoff did a nice instrumental cover of “Oh L’amour”

Anyway, Future Islands is baaaacckk. However, I was rather disappointed by their latest single 😐

Oh and suddenly I got this song in my head. And I still find those sideburns supercool.

Leave a Reply

